Social Media is NOT a Game of Pick-Up Sticks!

Posted on May 2, 2012

2


Pick-up sticks (or pick-a-stick) is a game of physical and mental skill. A bundle of  sticks, between 3 and 8 inches long, are held in a loose bunch (see the picture) and released on a table top, falling in random disarray. Each player, in turn, must remove a stick from the pile without disturbing the remaining ones.  (Wikipedia)

So, we’re all a bunch of sticks. And if social media (aka Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, blogging, and commenting on blogs,etc.) is played according to the rules of THAT game, if we want to win the game and go home with the most sticks, we’d better not “move” anyone.

I’ve learned the opposite is true and a lot more fun!

I WANT you to move me! I want to laugh and cry. Your life and what interests you matters to me. Let me help you move your cause, your book, your project along. There’s nothing more rewarding than seeing another person succeed.

What are we here for if not to brighten someone’s day by asking what they’re up to and finding out how we fit into their plan?

My mom asks me some really hard questions sometimes. She always gets me thinking! The other day she asked me to tell her what my business goal was? What did I want to move people to DO? I thought I knew. I sort of did. I can tell you what I’m working on and what I like to write about. But in the grand scheme of my life – that thing that breaks down into clumps of time spent doing stuff – I had a really hard time coming up with a clear and concise explanation of who Betsy “is” and what she’s up to. It’s all in my head, and I assume you’re a mind-reader or a guru of knowing what’s going on under and between-the-tweets!

But you know what? THAT’S exactly what I want from YOU! I may love what you write and tweet about. I can appreciate how you make me feel. But what I really want to know is twofold: I want to know what moves you in your life, and what moves you about mine.

Where we connect is where the magic happens!

I’ll get it “wrong” sometimes because of my assumptions about what I see when you show up. But I’ll search your site and try to figure out what you’re doing and if there’s a way I can advance your game. And I won’t be bashful about sharing it or asking you those difficult questions that my mom asks me either!

I’m off to play. Here’s to us shaking things up in each others game today!

Posted in: Uncategorized